Fashion Trends! Spring/Summer 2014

Hello dear readers,

I hope you are having an amazing Easter ( for those of you who celebrate it – if you don’t, I hope you had an amazing weekend). I’ve scheduled this post so you’ll have something to read while waiting for ‘the oven’ to be free again… if you cook a lot on Easter ( and only have 1 small oven), you’ll know what I mean.

Having said that, I created a mini-trend report for Spring/Summer 2014. I know, its overdue, and last year’s I did them a lot earlier but then I wasn’t finishing up my second reviewed PhD thesis draft was I ? 😛

Here goes:

Somewhat ugly shoes

90’s Shoes revivals like ‘The Mule’, remember those? I sure didn’t miss them that much. Now they are higher ( think cross over between the mule and the platform shoe) and with a lot of glitz and embedded jewelry. Marie Claire writes “Stacked slip-on skate shoes will elongate legs, as will chunky tracker-soled sandals (which cleverly disguise the fact you’re in a heel and have made an effort). You may even be able to run for the odd bus this year.”

marni-portrait

Shiny Fabrics and Gradient “Degradé” shirts/tops/dresses

I’m not a big fan of the very bright and shiny jackets and coats we sometimes see in the runaway, like the one I posted here. I like to see them in other people if they style it well…but it is really not my style.
I actually remember using some “degradé” sweaters, coats and t-shirts when I was in high-school. It’s coming back again from the 90’s.

jonathan-saunders-floral-portrait

Think ‘Clueless’ – the movie

Remember what Cher and her friends used to wear to school? Oh well, that is fashionable again. Small fitted skirts, cop tops, fluid materials, pastel colors and soft fitted fabrics.

carven-90s-portrait

Grunge is definitely back “again”

Okay, so I’m being a bit cynical about these trends but I have an explanation. I already passed through them in the 90’s. So, I know.. what is going to “stick” and really I see old pictures and I tell myself: Why Sara? Why?
Having said that, you can wear your graffiti, spray painted jeans again and get your old backpack from storage. You know, the one that had all your friend’s signatures in permanent eraser ink? ( yes we did that back in the 90’s, we also used “Monte Campo” which you probably don’t know about if you didn’t live in Portugal.

Gardunha_Urban_012-300x450
Photo credits to: http://www.montecampo.pt/categoria-produto/lazer/

Grown Up – Head to toe one color

Okay, so if you are a bit more ‘classical’ in style you are going to appreciate this look. It tends to be timeless and it can be flattering in most shapes.

Max-Mara-Red-portrait

Sheer Fabrics

SO they brought back the ‘crop’ top. In highschool I wasn’t allowed to wear them to school. But i wore them a little outside of school, of course school was your ‘social life’. Back in the days I was a size 34 ( I knew this because I actually tried one of my friends 34 jeans and they fitted so perfectly but I never had jeans my size growing up) and had a very flat stomach and tiny waist ( I now look back and think – Why was I covering myself with baggy sweaters and over-sized jeans?) Not to say I’m big now lol I usually wear a size 8 or 10 but I wished I could tell my pre-teen and teen self _ it’s okay to be you and that : You are beautiful, no matter what others might have told you.
Catharsis done.. CHECK! Sheer and see through fabrics are back… think flowy and translucent.

Burberry-plastic-portrait

And we end this post with a positive note. Remember that not all trends suit everybody and that you should always go with your instincts on this. What is “fashionable” right now doesn’t necessarily mean you have to wear it if it makes you look like ” not yourself”. And also: YOU ARE NOT AS FAT AS YOU THINK! Makes you feel good to read right? Now, just believe it :).

xoxo

Non

Photo credits to Marie Claire magazine or otherwise stated – All rights reserved to them. Quote by Nellie Eden – Marie Claire Features.

3 thoughts on “Fashion Trends! Spring/Summer 2014

Share your thoughts! xoxo Non

