Fashion Talk! Restrictive Fashion

Hello dear readers,

I came across this artist while browsing the internet. Una Burke uses traditional and conventional leather working techniques to create non-conventional and extraordinary fashion pieces that cross the boundaries between functional design and art. Though her pieces may be perceived as having a classic S&M aesthetic, Burke insists that these pieces are designed to accentuate the female form.

This Roscommon born designer has had her work worn by style icons Rhianna, Lady Gaga and Daphne Guinness.

What do you think of this work? I really like it as an art form.. I guess for performing artists it could work.

unaburke1-650x326

unaburke2-650x826

unaburke3-650x918

unaburke4-650x626

unaburke5-650x990

unaburke6-650x827

unaburke8-650x826

unaburke9-650x826

Source: http://www.lostateminor.com/

11 thoughts on “Fashion Talk! Restrictive Fashion

  1. This screams sadism and masochism. Amongst the other things I imagine the women restrained in this apparel may shout 😉

    My genre of poetry is the same, and the visuals piqued my interest.

  2. I think these would be really cool for photo shoots, but def not everyday wear. I love the idea of mixing this bold style with more contrast ones. Its so interesting to me haha

Share your thoughts! xoxo Non

