Lifestyle! Chinese New Year by LemonE

Dear readers,

Greetings from LemonE! It has been a long time since my last post. Miss you all a lot!

Today is the Chinese New Year, one of my favourite time of the year. I adore the traditional decorations, like the paper-cut below, as their red colour totally makes it more festive!

1358329831725

Another reason why I love Chinese New Year so much is that this festival is pretty much about food and expressing our best wishes for the each other through all sorts of traditional food. BTW, 2013 is the Year of Snake. Fortunately, it won’t be any of the delicacies I am going to present to you ☺

My favourite is rice cake made of white carrot. We usually fry it and serve it with soy sauce! Yum! Most traditional food in the New Year time resembles a particular wish. For carrot rice cake, it is prosperity!

DSC_0063

Also a kind of pastry in dumpling shape with peanut and sesame (“You Jiao”) are so tempting that I totally throw my diet plan back to UK. Even though You Jiao is available in supermarket, my granny insists on homemade ones. See how lovely the ones she made us!

DSC_0072

In addition, each family puts a candy box like the one below on their coffee table, which makes the whole living room warm and joyful!

94d5e686jw1e1o3xunjs2j

However, what Chinese New Year could offer are definitely more than that! I do, on behalf of my people, invite all of you to visit China in this New Year time. Or even easier, you could pay a visit to China Town during this week and discover more about the Chinese New Year!

chinese_new_year_2013-1012005-hp

Happy New Year! ‘Xin Nian Kuai Le’!
Xoxo
LemonE

2 thoughts on “Lifestyle! Chinese New Year by LemonE

  1. Such a lovely post” I have never tried a cake from a white carrot. 🙂 I found your blog thanks to the GIG community and I am really happy for that. Following you on Bloglovin and FB so I can stay in touch. 🙂

    Kisses, Lucy 🙂
    stylewithoutlimits.blogspot.cz

Share your thoughts! xoxo Non

