Fashion Talk! Hair Coloring!

Hello dear readers,

I was browsing through the internet today looking for information on hair coloring because I’m thinking of going a shade lighter with my hair. My base color is very dark brown and I’m thinking highlights to add some glow and vibrancy ( I know highlights in autumn right?).
This will be the second time I’ll dye my hair (first time was in college back in 2002 and it was a disaster. I wanted a nice warm red and I got burnt orange – blah). I grew it out and ended up with the longest roots in history, then I cut it short! This time around I’m ‘older’ and ‘wiser’ and I wanted to learn as much as I could about the processes involved in color dying and color choices. I found some nice information and I decided to share a bit of what I learned.
First a bit of fun historical facts. Did you know that as in Greece they used to associate light and red hair to honor and courage? And that they used very harsh soaps and bleaches to make it that color? On the opposite hand Romans in the first century preferred dark hair and that was made possible by using a dye made out of walnuts and leeks.

Hair dyes ( at least the ones that last for more then 12 washes) contain two main chemicals:
Hydrogen peroxide ( used to helps with the color-forming process and creates longer-lasting color by removing the sulfur out of your hair) and Ammonia ( lightens by acting into the hair cuticle, allowing the hair color to penetrate the cortex). Are you with me so far?

There are 3 levels of hair coloring: Permanent ( From Black to say Blonde for example), Demi-Permanent ( up to 26 shampoo washes) and Semi-Permanent ( 6 to 12 shampoo washes).

Other Tips:

– Choose your colorist wisely, ask around for recommendations of people whose hair color you like;
– Only do it yourself if your not a clumsy mess like me, ask a friend to help you out the first time if you must do it without professional help;
– Use a Shampoo and Conditioner specially for dyed hair, it makes it last longer;
. Dyed hair needs extra conditioning!
– If you took it too far remember that it will grow out..just be patient

What are your favorite colors for this season?? Whats your hair color now? I wanna knowww!!!!! 🙂

Some inspiration from beautiful hair colored styles:

Black Hair

Brown Hair

Red Hair

Blonde Hair

xoxo

NON

11 thoughts on “Fashion Talk! Hair Coloring!

    1. Once you get the hang of it it’s cool..I helped my mom dyed her hair and it seemed uncomplicated..but I can’t risk it the first time u know? 🙂 My hair is very dark brown..I just want to give it a light shimmer or glow.

  1. nice post! But for some reason I can’t get myself to color my hair again after I tried getting a few light highlights on my dark hair long back ( I should have known better but I was young and stupid) and ended up looking a lot older than I’d like. 😉 But am pretty sure no such thing would happen to you.. and please put up a pic once you get them done 🙂

  2. Oh how i love blond hair! I have a very black hair but loves to tint it blond. The last time i did,it came out horrible.my other challenge is,my hair breaks and dryup easily each time i tint my it.how can i prevent the breaks?

    1. Hi there! Firstly I’m not an expert but I can tell you from experience that to avoid your hair from breaking you need to shampoo less often and when you wash your hair during the week use a deep conditioner suited for your hair type. If it’s dry : a lot of conditioner usually helps and there are styling products that you can use to seal in the hair follicle and prevent it from breaking so much (serums). Also it helps that you use a wide tooth comb ( or your fingers) after you wash it to untangle it instead of a brush or regular comb because that usually breaks the hair when its most fragile ( after you wash it). I heard nice things about moroccan oils to help with that as well. Hope this helped! PS: If your hair is very dark, going all blonde, it’s probably a bit aggressive for for when your hair is not in its best shape.

  3. Oh how i love blonde hair! I have very black hair and i love to tint it blonde. The last time i did,it was a disaster.my other challenge is,my hair breaks and dries up easily when i tint. How can i stop the breakage?

Share your thoughts! xoxo Non

