Lifestyle! Lisbon Summer Memories

11 Oct

Hello dear readers,

It’s time for a bit of reminiscence about the summer time and how lovely it all was. I tend to forget how lucky I am to be able to spend my summers in such a sunny place as Portugal is. Lisbon is close to my heart and it is the city that ‘saw me grow’ but like many children of Lisbon I sometimes only see the bad side of it and often forget what a historic city like ours can offer people. Here are a few things I can think of from the top of my; the food, the places, the beach and river but also and most important part I guess would be – the people.

I’ll start with the food, not because I’m starting to grow an appetite or something (although I wouldn’t mind taking some bites at it) but because it is one of the things people from other countries mention about Lisbon. My friends who visit me say that the food is amazing and there is a lot of variety and all price ranges you can remember. For some amazing portuguese cooking blog check out my friend’s Marmita blog. Also you can find different types of attractions in Lisbon.
We have museums, a castle, good restaurants, good weather, amazing views, historical monuments. Most restaurants and small café’s have tables outside and you can enjoy the company of your friends while you can get a feel of the city and its vibrancy. Good wine and beer is also standard in Portugal, as most restaurants have some sort of house wine or even serve wine/beer at pressure. Modernity and History walk hand in hand in Lisbon, a place that’s becoming quite urban and vibrant.
What started out to be a post about me remembering my summer moments became like an advert to go visit Lisbon lol.. but I must say that if i had never left Portugal to go live in the UK i guess I wouldn’t appreciate it as much. Now that I miss it sometimes makes me wonder and reminisce about what a great thing we got.. so much potential.

Tell me about your city and your thoughts on it!! I’d like to hear from all of you!

xoxo

Non

(Photo credits to nonfashionista and lemonlee)

16 Responses to “Lifestyle! Lisbon Summer Memories”

  1. Boobieslifeandluster October 11, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Lisbon sounds like a great place to spend a summer .. And to grow up in! Did you enjoy youth there? LA x

    • nonfashionista October 11, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      Hi dear! I grew up outside Lisbon, in a place called Almada..( very close, across that bridge) it was fun! Of course the capital is always ‘the place’ and I did my undergrad and masters there :)

      • Boobieslifeandluster October 13, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

        Oh fantastic you’ve done your MA – I really want to do so still, I have my Foundation & BA but still thinking about doing the further step. Where are you based now?

      • nonfashionista October 13, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

        I’m based in Lancaster, UK where I’m doing my PhD..I know..I’m a crazy person lol :) but it’s been fun, it’s in Design Management! :)

      • Boobieslifeandluster October 13, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

        Fantastic – Design Management a great one. You are an education fore-fronter!! Mine is in Fashion Design & Textiles, Design is the way to go ..xo

      • nonfashionista October 13, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

        Oh thanks! That’s encouraging! I think so as well – Design is the way to go. I would have loved to study fashion design as well :)

  2. shiroknowes October 11, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Beautiful place and pictures !

    • nonfashionista October 11, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      Thanks darling! You haven’t updated your blog for a while! Last post is from that hiking trip you took! I miss reading it! hugs xoxo

      • shiroknowes October 14, 2012 at 7:50 am #

        Thanks a lot for missing my post, it’s hard for me that I can’t work because my pc is so messed up that it have to be totally cleaned and I’m not able so I’m depend on others and have to wait ! Hope to be back soon ! Xoxo

      • nonfashionista October 14, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

        I can’t imagine my life without a computer..as I’m doing my phd i need it every day..Hope you can solve the problem soon!

  3. Trèsors De Luxe October 12, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Congratulations! You are a winner in our Sephora GIVEAWAY! Let us know where you would like us to mail your prize and we’ll ship in on out :) XO ~ Tresors De Luxe! http://www.tresorsdeluxe.com

    • nonfashionista October 12, 2012 at 7:40 am #

      Only after submitting to the giveaway I found that it was only US continental..I’m in the UK :( So sorry..you’ll probably need to draw another winner. Hope this doesn’t cause you much upset..Happy to have won actually..even though I didn’t qualify for the giveaway! :) hugs! xoxo

  4. ioanna aggelidaki October 12, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    Great pictures non! :D Your posts makes me visit Portugal even more! :)

    • nonfashionista October 12, 2012 at 8:01 am #

      Thanks :) hihi

    • nonfashionista October 20, 2012 at 12:51 am #

      I wanna go visit greeceeeee!!

Share your thoughts! xoxo Non

infinite satori

FOLLOW YOUR BLISS

Glory Boon

A major obsession with beauty, fashion, and DIY.

B L O G V I C T I M S

Fashion . Lifestyle . People . Travel

Miz Roket´s blog

Life as it is

Makeup Crazy

If Your Crazy About Makeup, You'll Be Crazy About This Blog

BlondyWitch FashionBlog

Fashion, trends, news...but not the usual blog. Edited by Claudia Giordano

Am1e's Nail Diary

If you ❤ nail polish u will ❤ this blog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

http://kendra4926.wordpress.com

E o munca sa te mentii frumoasa..RESPECT!!!

Laura Crampton

YA writer and all around book addict

Cursed With An Expensive Taste...

*Fashion*Beauty*Make-Up*Sparkle*Films*

overpackedandunderpaid

Warning May Contain: Travel, Humour, Life.

Where Art Meets Fashion

“Art is Art. Fashion is Fashion. However, Andy Warhol proved that they can exist together.” -Karl Lagerfeld

A Confederacy of Spinsters

Sex, Dating, and Surviving Your Twenties

John SterVens' Tales

Thee Life, Thee Heart, Thee Tears

Can't Cook So What?

‎"There is no word in English for chic. Why should there be? Everything chic is, by legend, French" E.H.

Hora de Beauté

Maquillage, Beauté, Photo, Mode, Fitness

it was supposed to be Wonderland

“My mouth is a fire escape. The words coming out, don’t care that they are naked. There is something burning in there.” — Andrea Gibson

Carina-Collette

BA (Hons) Fashion Design Student

lifeofbun

The bun scrolls

Generation Passport

World Mix Magazine (click title for home)

Boho & Braids

it's all about the clothes...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 987 other followers

